Seiji Ozawa and Marcus Roberts Trio play Gershwin in Berlin

Waldbühne 2003: A Gershwin Night

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Marcus Roberts — Pianist

Jason Marsalis — Drummer

Roland Guerin — Bass guitarist

Berliner Philharmoniker

Seiji Ozawa — Conductor

Program notes

A very jazzy Gershwin with Seiji Ozawa, the pianist Marcus Roberts and a luxury big band, the Berliner Philharmoniker

One day in June 2003, thousands of people came to the Waldbühne Park to spend the night with Gershwin, the composer of Porgy and Bess, the super energised Seiji Ozawa conducting the venerable Berliner Philharmoniker and the famous Marcus Roberts jazz trio.

It was hardly surprising to see Ozawa conduct the music of Gershwin: Gershwin is the composer he chose in 2002 for his farewell concert with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, of which he was the musical director for twenty-nine years. He also chose the fabulous jazz pianist Marcus Roberts whom we see again in Berlin, accompanied by Roland Guerin on double bass and Jason Marsalis on the drums. After an electric American in Paris, Rhapsody in Blue and Concerto in F, played and arranged by Marcus Roberts himself, delighted the audience.

Photo: © Monika Rittershaus

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info