Kent Nagano conducts Debussy, Saint-Saëns, and Stravinsky – With Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Прямой эфир
Некоторые части этой программы в настоящее время недоступны
При поддержке
Состав О программе Композиторы и произведения Больше информации


О программе

Joined by the exceptional French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and Kent Nagano transport us to Paris for one very special musical evening with works by Saint-Saëns, Debussy, Stravinsky. An exciting and ambitious program sure to captivate and inspire!

Paris, 1913. A groundbreaking year in the history of music and modern dance, with two visionary works commissioned by Serge de Diaghilev, founder of the Ballets Russes: Debussy’s Jeux and Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. For the opening of the Théâtre du Châtelet, Debussy's Jeux are received with a certain lack of understanding, primarily because of a choreography that was considered too mechanical in comparison to its music's poetic subtlety. Just two weeks later, Stravinsky's new ballet was given its premiere in a performance that caused a veritable scandal, with the audience whistling and booing during the music. Now a beloved part of the classical music canon, The Rite of Spring has totally surpassed the Jeux in appreciation and renown. Yet critics agree that the extremely refined and complex work had an important influence on contemporary music. In this concert, the two works are performed together, a truly complementary pairing that highlights both ballets' extraordinary modernity.

©Andrew Eccles

Узнать больше: композиторы и произведения

Больше информации