Master class

Master Class with Amit Peled (III/X)

Prokofiev's Sinfonia Concertante, Op. 125 – First Movement

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes More info


Amit Peled — Teacher, cellist
Ferran Albrich — Cellist
Iveta Sabova — Pianist

Program notes

Israeli cellist Amit Peled, one of the most sought-after pedagogues on his instrument, works with Ferran Albrich on the first movement from Prokofiev's Sinfonia Concertante Op. 125 in a masterclass at the Villa Sandra Lesa.

Originally envisioned as a cello concerto and premiered in 1952 by its dedicatee the great Rostropovich, the incredibly technically-challenging Symphonie Concertante for Cello, Op. 125 by Prokofiev was later reworked by the composer to give the orchestra a richer and more substantial role. The three movement work later inspired Shostakovich to write his first cello concerto, also dedicated to Rostropovich.

More info

Directed by:
Gianriccardo Pera
Venue: Villa Sandra Lesa (Lesa, Italy)
Production date: 2015
Duration: 50 min
Production: © iClassical Academy
Resolution: Full HD