Master class

Master Class with Mariss Jansons (II/II)

Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5 — With the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Mariss Jansons — Teacher, conductor

Alexander Prior — Conductor

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Program notes

The conductor Mariss Jansons gives a fascinating master class on Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique and Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony.

This 2-part program follows three young talented conductors in a master class with Mariss Jansons, the renowned chief conductor of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

The three young participants, the Hungarian Gergely Madaras, the Chinese Yu Lu and British Alexander Prior – all well under thirty – , were selected from a total of 80 international candidates. They lead the RCO during rehearsals of Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique and Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony for two days under the critical eye of maestro Mariss Jansons.

The film gives an interesting insight into the art of conducting and the conducting techniques of one of Europe's most celebrated maestros.

Appears in

More info