The Berliner Philharmoniker's 1995 Europakonzert — Florence

With Zubin Mehta and Sarah Chang

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Sarah Chang — Violinist

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta — Conductor

Program notes

Join violin superstar Sarah Chang, maestro Zubin Mehta, and the Berliner Philharmoniker on a wonderful evening in 1995 at Florence's Palazzo Vecchio for the annual Europakonzert, celebrated this year with works by Beethoven, Stravinsky, Dvořák, among others.

Founded on May 1, 1882, the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrates that day annually with a concert in a European city of cultural significance. After opening with Beethoven's Fidelio Overture, the 1995 Europakonzert showcases the virtuosity of violin, first with the brilliant violinist Sarah Chang's performance of a movement from Paganini's Violin Concerto No.1, and then with Boris Blacher's Orchestral Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op. 26, which playfully distributes 16 variations on Paganini's Caprice for Solo Violin, Op. 1, No. 24 among different groups of instruments. Next comes Stravinsky's Petrushka in its 1947 version as a Burlesque in Four Scenes: The Shrovetide Fair, Petrouchka’s Room, The Moor’s Room, The Shrovetide Fair (Toward Evening). The concert closes with Dvořák's festive Slavonic Dance No. 8 in G minor from his Opus 46.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info