Valery Gergiev conducts Mendelssohn and Schubert — With Janine Jansen

Münchner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Program notes

Join the Munich Philharmonic for a moment of undeniable magic, live from the Philharmonie im Gasteig, with the legendary Valery Gergiev at the helm. The evening begins with virtuoso violinist Janine Jansen as the soloist for Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E Minor. Composing this iconic concerto took the composer six years, during which he wrote frequently to Ferdinand David, the violinist who would premiere the piece, to draw upon his vast technical expertise. The concert ends with Schubert’s “Tragic” Symphony No. 4, written when he was only nineteen years old and which he would never hear in the course of his lifetime—indeed, it was first premiered more than twenty years after he passed away...

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Thursday, September 25, 2025