Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

This livestream is no longer available.

concert Valery Gergiev conducts Debussy and Tchaikovsky — With Daniel Lozakovich and Alexandre Kantorow Fondation Louis Vuitton

Fondation Louis Vuitton

Valery Gergiev conducts Debussy and Tchaikovsky — With Daniel Lozakovich and Alexandre Kantorow Fondation Louis Vuitton


Live from the prestigious Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris, the impeccable Valery Gergiev and world-renowned Mariinsky Orchestra join forces with two of the classical world's most exciting young stars, violinist Daniel Lozakovich and pianist Alexandre Kantorow, in two Tchaikovsky concertos (which both premiered in 1881)!

2019 Tchaikovsky Competition winner Kantorow begins the evening with a resplendent rendition of the Russian master's Piano Concerto No. 2, gripping and triumphant, an ideal piece to kick off the festivities. Later, the wickedly talented Lozakovich astounds in the Violin Concerto in D Major, written in 1878 shortly after Tchaikovsky’s attempted suicide. This beloved work is one of the most challenging in the violin repertoire as well as one of most passionate, reflecting the composer’s emergence from a period of depression. Between these two pillars of the Russian repertoire, the orchestra takes a compelling French interlude with Debussy’s epoch-making Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, a watershed moment in the history of classical music.

Daniel Lozakovich © Lev Efimov

Daniel Lozakovich appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

Alexandre Kantorow appears courtesy of BIS Records.


  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Major, Op. 44
    • 1. Allegro brillante e molto vivace
    • 2. Andante non troppo
    • 3. Allegro con fuoco
  • Igor Stravinsky, The Firebird
  • Franz Liszt, Années de pèlerinage, Deuxième année : Italie, S. 161
    • 5. Sonetto 104 del Petrarca
  • Claude Debussy, Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35
    • 1. Allegro moderato
    • 2. Canzonetta: Andante
    • 3. Finale: Allegro vivacissimo
  • Eugène Ysaÿe, Six Sonatas for solo Violin, Op. 27
    • Sonata No. 5 in G Major, "Mathieu Crickboom" — II. Danse rustique
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita for Solo Violin No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004
    • 5. Ciaccona


  • Directed by:
    • Christophe Bellemain
  • Venue: Fondation Louis Vuitton (Paris, France)
  • Broadcast date: Sept. 21, 2021, 8:30 p.m.
  • Production date: 2021
  • Production: © Fondation Louis Vuitton

You might also like