Tugan Sokhiev conducts Liszt and Shostakovich — With Lucas Debargue

Orchestre national du Capitole de Toulouse

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Star pianist Lucas Debargue joins Tugan Sokhiev and the Orchestre Nationale du Capitole de Toulouse for a program of fire and ice! They begin with Liszt’s First Piano Concerto, whose virtuosic fireworks and extroverted character (along with the composer’s unusual use of the triangle, an instrument he admitted “could shock certain people, especially if it is hit too harshly or imprecisely”) have earned it an eternal place in the pianistic concerto pantheon. The second of the wartime symphonies, Shostakovich’s Eighth received warm accolades at its 1943 premiere before Soviet authorities turned cold on the composer and began to criticize the work. Transporting its listeners from tragedy to triumph, it is one of the greatest symphonic masterpieces of the 20th century, magisterially rendered here by Maestro Sokhiev and the ONCT.

Photo: Tugan Sokhiev © Marco Borggreve / Lucas Debargue © Felix Broede

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info