Tugan Sokhiev conducts Beethoven and Berlioz – With Christian Zacharias

Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

For its 2016 season-opening concert, the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse has selected two monumental works of the classical repertoire by Beethoven and Berlioz. Christian Zacharias opens the evening with Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5, "Emperor" (1809), the last concerto for the instrument the composer ever wrote.

Under the baton of its musical director Tugan Sokhiev, the Orchestre National du Capitole then performs Berlioz' dazzling Symphonie fantastique (1830). The piece bursts with a truly unique expressive power, infused with Berlioz's mad passion for the Irish actress Harriet Smithson.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info