François-Xavier Roth conducts Debussy, Bartók, and Bruckner — With Antoine Tamestit

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Antoine Tamestit — Violist

London Symphony Orchestra — Orchestra

François-Xavier Roth — Conductor

Program notes

Led by François-Xavier Roth, the London Symphony Orchestra performs a program with works by Debussy, Bartók, and Bruckner at the Barbican in London. Performed by Antoine Tamestit, Bartók's Viola Concerto is at the heart of the program.

Debussy’s Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune is an evocative and poetic opener that oozes the rich imagery of its source, a symbolist poem by Stéphane Mallarmé. Bartók’s Viola Concerto brings this oft-overlooked string instrument to center stage, showcasing the instrument and its capabilities in full, before the program concludes with a bedrock piece of the 19th century: Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4, the Romantic, filled to the brim with evocative images of love, nature and a simpler time.

Click here to listen to more from Antoine Tamestit and the LSO.

Photo: © Kevin Leighton

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info