Sakari Oramo conducts Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, and Sibelius — With Joshua Bell

2010 Nobel Prize Concert

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Violinist Joshua Bell and Finnish conductor Sakari Oramo join forces with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in the gala concert of the Nobel Prize Awards Ceremony in May 2010.

The evening opens with Beethoven's Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72a. Composed for his one-and-only, much-revised opera Fidelio, the overture is one of four different versions. The fourth is usually performed for full-length productions of the opera, while the third, performed here, is the most popular and the most typically Beethovenian in style.

Tchaikovsky's 1878 Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35 is one of the most beloved concertos of the classical repertoire. It combines a classical three-movement structure with a Romantic ethos, and is performed here by American virtuoso Joshua Bell, nicknamed the "poet of the violin."

The concert closes with Sibelius's Symphony No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 82. Despite being written during one of the darkest times in European history—from 1914 to 1919—the symphony has an undeniably optimistic nature, which the composer himself admitted in his diary.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info