Iván Fischer conducts Mozart, Rossini and Haydn — With Isabelle Faust and Tabea Zimmermann

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Isabelle Faust — Violinist

Tabea Zimmermann — Violist

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Iván Fischer — Conductor

Program notes

Iván Fischer conducts the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in a program of Classical-era favorites, including Haydn's Symphony No. 102 and two works by Rossini, at the sumptuous Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, inaugurated in 1888 and inspired by the Neoclassical style of the Gewandhaus in Leipzig. Rossini's enchanting overtures for L'Italiana in Algeri(The Italian Girl in Algiers) and La gazza ladra (The Thieving Magpie) elegantly introduce each half of the program.

In the first half, Isabelle Faust and Tabea Zimmerman make an exceptional duo in Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra, brimming with orchestral dynamics inspired by the composer's four-month visit to Mannheim in 1777-78, where he was greatly impressed by the innovative court orchestra. After meeting the court musicians, some of whom had not yet caught wind of his reputation, Mozart wrote to his father, "[they think] that because I am little and young nothing great or mature is to be found in me, but they shall soon find it out..."

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info