The Berliner Philharmoniker's 2017 Europakonzert — Paphos

With Mariss Jansons and Andreas Ottensamer

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Andreas Ottensamer — Clarinetist

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons — Conductor

Program notes

Revisit one of the Berlin Philharmonic's most cherished traditions: the 2017 Europakonzert, held this time in the old port of Paphos on the island of Cyprus! Set against the paradisiacal blue waters of the Mediterranean, the orchestra interprets works by Weber, Koncz, Dvořák, and Brahms under the baton of maestro Mariss Jansons, with a special appearance by clarinetist Andreas Ottensamer.

The concert begins with the Overture to Weber’s Oberon (his only opera in English). Then Ottensamer, a great connoisseur of Weber's work, takes the stage to perform his Clarinet Concerto No. 1, a beguiling and virtuosic score that provides ample ground for Ottensamer to demonstrate his talent. Orchestra and soloist continue with a work by contemporary composer and cellist Stephan Koncz, a Hungarian Fantasy on themes by none other than Weber! The light and enchanting piece is short but allows enough time to alternate between grandiose orchestral passages and a cheerful dialogue between clarinet and ensemble. We remain in Eastern Europe with Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, imbued with a somewhat atypical spark of optimism, though with hints of the Czech's characteristic pathos. Finally, the concert ends with a mighty flourish: the legendary Hungarian Dance No. 5 by Brahms, flawlessly interpreted by the ensemble.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info