Lorenzo Viotti conducts Rachmaninov, Rimsky-Korsakov, Chabrier, and Ravel — With Yuja Wang

Münchner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Yuja Wang — Pianist

Münchner Philharmoniker

Lorenzo Viotti — Conductor

Program notes

Be there for a live musical gathering at Munich’s Odeonsplatz in the company of two of the classical stage’s brightest lights! Maestro Lorenzo Viotti, at the helm of the Munich Philharmonic, and virtuoso pianist Yuja Wang invite us to join them at the world-famous open-air venue, beginning the festivities with an electrifying rendition of Rachmaninov’s poignant Piano Concerto No. 2. The ensemble then unveils a Spanish-inflected program: Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol leads into Chabrier’s España, a "rhapsody for orchestra," before Ravel's perennially beloved Boléro, an undisputed masterpiece of orchestration, ends the concert with flair.

Photo: Lorenzo Viotti © Aline Paley, Yuja Wang © Norbert Kniat

Yuja Wang appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info