Lahav Shani conducts Prokofiev and Rachmaninov — With Martha Argerich

Wiener Symphoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Living legend Martha Argerich brings her superhuman technique and breathtaking expressivity to Prokofiev’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No. 3, a piece that has come to emblematize her genius. She joins Maestro Lahav Shani and the Wiener Symphoniker for an unforgettable evening of Russian masterworks!

Prokofiev's Third is a fiendishly difficult concerto, demanding spontaneity and deliberation, playfulness and profundity, lightning dexterity and formidable strength. Argerich makes it look effortless: her interpretation, polished to gleaming perfection over the decades (with rapturous acclaim and a Grammy to show for it), feels freer and more essential than ever.

The prodigious Shani, recently named Rotterdam’s youngest ever Chief Conductor, is also Principal Guest Conductor of the Wiener Symphoniker, whom he leads here in Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances. The great composer’s final work, self-referential and ecclesiastically inspired, is a gorgeous summation of his oeuvre, brimming with bold instrumentation and lush harmonies.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info