Gábor Takács-Nagy conducts Haydn, Schumann, and Brahms — With Sir András Schiff

Verbier Festival 2017

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Sir András Schiff — Pianist

Roberto González-Monjas — Violinist

Maksim Velichkin — Cellist

Vicente Castello Sansaloni — Oboist

Pierre Gomes — Bassoonist

Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra

Gábor Takács-Nagy — Conductor

Program notes

The Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra and Gábor Takács-Nagy (their Music Director since 2007) are joined by celebrated Hungarian pianist Sir András Schiff for Brahms' magnificent First Piano Concerto. Also on the program are Haydn's Sinfonia Concertante and Schumann's First Symphony.

The concert opens with Haydn's Sinfonia Concertante featuring Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra soloists on oboe, bassoon, violin, and cello. Then comes Schumann's festive Symphony No. 1, "The Spring," a work composed soon after his marriage and his first daughter's birth. Finally, Sir András Schiff takes the stage for the concert's culminating piece: Brahms' Piano Concerto No.1. The youthful work was initially met with mixed reviews: a Leipzig critic even wrote after the second performance that the concerto "cannot give pleasure"! The concerto's popularity has progressively grown, and it is now one of Brahms' most popular works.

Made possible by the support of the Tabor Foundation.
Photo: Sir András Schiff © Aline Paley

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info