The Berliner Philharmoniker's 2011 Europakonzert — Madrid

Witth Sir Simon Rattle and Juan Manuel Cañizares

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Every year for the past 20 years, the Berliner Philharmoniker has celebrated its 1882 founding with a concert in a European venue of cultural importance. With music by Chabrier, Rodrigo, and Rachmaninov on the program, the 2011 Europakonzert took place in Madrid's beautiful Teatro Real and highlighted the incredible talents of the famous guitarist Juan Manuel Cañizares.

A symphonic love letter composed after a trip to Spain, 19th-century French composer Emmanuel Chabrier’s exuberant rhapsody for orchestra, España, opened the concert. The Berliner Philharmoniker and their music director Sir Simon Rattle then welcomed flamenco guitarist Juan Manuel Cañizares for a performance of Joaquín Rodrigo’s beloved Concierto de Aranjuez. The guitarist's famed virtuosic technique and musical sensitivity shine in this multi-faceted jewel of a concerto. The concert closed with Rachmaninov's Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, one of the composer's best-known compositions.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info