Mikhaïl Pletnev and Claudio Abbado in a program dedicated to Beethoven

Europakonzert 2000, Berlin

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Mikhail Pletnev — Pianist

Karita Mattila — Soprano

Violeta Urmana — Soprano

Thomas Moser — Tenor

Eike Wilm Schulte — Baritone

Swedish Radio Choir

Eric Ericson Chamber Choir

Tonu Kaljuste — Chorus director

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado — Music director

Program notes

The prestigious Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Claudio Abbado for a concert dedicated to Beethoven.

Claudio Abbado conducts two emblematic works composed by Beethoven in the breathtaking Berliner Philharmonie concert hall. The Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 19 with the Russian pianist Mikhail Pletnev whose dazzling technique adding to a delicate sensitivity merges instinct and intellectual rigour, and the Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 with the exceptional soloists Karita Mattila, Violeta Urmana, Thomas Moser and Eike Wilm Schulte.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info