The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center plays Dvořák, Bernstein, Copland and Burleigh

50th anniversary of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Gloria Chien — Pianist

Wu Han — Artistic director, pianist

Chad Hoopes — Violinist

Kristin Lee — Violinist

Arnaud Sussmann — Violinist

Angelo Xiang Yu — Violinist

Matthew Lipman — Violist

Paul Neubauer — Violist

Nicholas Canellakis — Cellist

David Finckel — Artistic director, cellist

Anthony Manzo — Double bassist

Ransom Wilson — Flutist

David Shifrin — Clarinetist

Marc Goldberg — Bassoonist

Program notes

The musicians of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center celebrate their 50th anniversary season with an all-American concert program.

Inspired by Native American and African American traditional music, Dvořák’s “American” String Quintet in E-flat Major opens the concert. Profoundly moving, this work’s exploration of music native to North America helped the New World's classical composers searching for their own musical voice to turn outward toward the vast musical horizon awaiting them. In this spirit, Henry T. Burleigh composed his Southland Sketches for Violin and Piano, and the legendary Aaron Copland and Leonard Bernstein drew on Dvořák’s vision to create their own American masterpieces.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info