Carl Nielsen International Competition: Awards Ceremony


Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Noah Bendix-Balgley — Violin jury chair

Karl-Heinz Schütz — Flute jury chair

Yehuda Gilad — Clarinet jury chair

Emmanuel Pahud — Artistic advisor

Martin Fröst — Artistic advisor

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider — Competition president

Odense Symphony Orchestra

Daniela Musca — Conductor

Program notes

The moment of truth has arrived at the 2022 Carl Nielsen International Competition! See who will take home the top prizes from among this year’s talented crop of violinists, flutists, and clarinetists, who have all benefited from close collaboration with distinguished jury members and artistic advisors in the brand-new Espansiva! program. The winners will get one more chance to perform alongside the Odense Symphony Orchestra under the acclaimed Italian conductor Daniela Musca.

Heading the jury of the three competitions in 2022 are Noah Bendix-Balgley (violin), Karl-Heinz Schütz (flute), and Yehuda Gilad (clarinet). Artistic Advisors Emmanuel Pahud (flute) and Martin Fröst (clarinet) will actively participate in the selection process, and Fröst will join the clarinet jury for the final round. Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, a grand prize winner at the 1992 edition, serves as competition president.

The winners of the 2022 Carl Nielsen International Competition are…

Violin Prizes
1st Prize (tie): Hans Christian Aavik and Bohdan Luts
2nd Prize: not awarded
3rd Prize: Eun Che Kim

Flute Prizes
1st Prize
: Alberto Navarra
2nd Prize: Seohyeon Kim 
3rd Prize: Alberto Acuña Almela

Clarinet Prizes
1st Prize: Oleg Shebeta-Dragan
2nd Prize: Ann Lepage
3rd Prize: Panagiotis Giannakas

Odense Symphony Orchestra Prizes
Hans Christian Aavik (violin)
Seohyeon Kim (flute)
Oleg Shebata-Dragan (clarinet)

Junior Jury Prizes
Bohdan Lutz (violin)
Seohyeon Kim (flute)
Oleg Shebata-Dragan (clarinet)

Prize for Best Interpretation of Commissioned Violin Piece (Jesper Koch's "Maze")
Hans Christian Aavik

Prize for Playing Around Nielsen
Victoria de los Ángeles Gil García (flute)
Jonathan Leibovitz (clarinet)

Special Prize (Buffet Crampon)
Gerbrich Meijer (clarinet)

More info