Andris Nelsons conducts Shostakovich, Stravinsky, and Tchaikovsky — With Baiba Skride

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Baiba Skride — Violinist

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Andris Nelsons — Conductor

Program notes

Catch a poignant rendition of Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony—part of the acclaimed Tchaikovsky cycle that marked maestro Andris Nelsons's inaugural season as Kapellmeister of the legendary Gewandhausorchester Leipzig in 2017-18—as well as works by Shostakovich and Stravinsky featuring the inimitable Baiba Skride on violin!

The concert opens with Skride's electric interpretation of Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, a virtuosic and demanding work that affords no moment of respite to the violin, which continually recounts its somber story with beguilingly lyrical tones. The virtuoso then performs a haunting encore, Stravinsky's sparse and intimate Elegy for Solo Violin, a beautiful clearing of the air before the storied orchestra and their new maestro launch into Tchaikovsky's spirited Symphony No. 5, one of the composer's most loved works, famously broadcast in 1941 during the Siege of Leningrad to boost morale.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info