Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Copland, Shostakovich, and Tchaikovsky — With Yuja Wang

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Yuja Wang is back on! The famed London Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of the excellent Michael Tilson Thomas, accompanies the spectacularly fearless piano virtuoso.

The evening begins with a 20th-century masterpiece, Aaron Copland's Our Town. Originally composed in 1940 for Sam Wood's cinematic adaptation of the famous stage play by Thornton Wilder, the work was later arranged as an orchestral suite that premiered in 1944.

The one-of-a-kind Yuja then shines in Shostakovich’s riveting Piano Concerto No. 2, before the orchestra brings the concert to an exuberant conclusion with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 2, sometimes called “Little Russian” due to the influence it draws from Ukrainian folk melodies. Together conductor, soloist, and ensemble prove once again their endless capacity to innovate and catch the public’s eye at every turn.

Photo: Michael Tilson, Yuja Wang © Norbert Kniat

Yuja Wang appears curtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info