The Sleeping Beauty by Marius Petipa, music by Tchaikovsky

Marianela Núñez (Princess Aurora), Christopher Saunders (King Florestan XXIV), Elizabeth McGorian (The Queen) — The Royal Ballet

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Marius Petipa — Choreographer
Oliver Messel — Set designer
Mark Jonathan — Lighting
Peter Manning — Concertmaster
Christopher Saunders — King Florestan XXIV
Elizabeth McGorian — His Queen
Marianela Núñez — Princess Aurora
Vadim Muntagirov — Prince Florimund
Alastair Marriott — Catalabutte
Kristen McNally — Carabosse
Claire Calvert — Lilac Fairy
Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
Koen Kessels — Conductor

Program notes

The "ever-perfect Marianela Nuñez and Vadim Muntagirov" (The Guardian) headline this immaculate Royal Ballet production of Tchaikovsky's The Sleeping Beauty, in the classic choreography by Marius Petipa!

The first collaboration between Tchaikovsky and Petipa, the 1890 ballet was an instant success in Russia but didn't become a widespread repertoire staple until after Tchaikovsky's death. For the last century, it has retained a place of honor in the rotation of ballet companies worldwide as one of audiences' most beloved classical ballets. The work's popularity is easy to understand: it contains some of the most beautiful, sweepingly romantic music ever written by Tchaikovsky; features a sublime and elegant choreography by one of the all-time masters; and recounts in dance one of the world's favorite fairy tales—a tale further immortalized in the Disney film, which also makes excellent use of Tchaikovsky's timeless score.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Ross MacGibbon
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (London, Great Britain)
Production date: 2017
Duration: 2 h 18 min
Production: © Royal Opera House Covent Garden Foundation
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Thursday, July 31, 2025