Britten's The Turn of the Screw

Jonathan Kent (stage director), Jakub Hruša (conductor) – With Miah Persson (The Governess), Toby Spence (Prologue/Peter Quint)...

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Jonathan Kent — Stage director

Paul Brown — Stage sets and costumes

Mark Henderson — Lighting

Miah Persson — The Governess

Toby Spence — Prologue / Peter Quint

Susan Bickley — Mrs Grose

Giselle Allen — Miss Jessel

Joanna Songi — Flora

Thomas Parfitt — Miles

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Jakub Hrůša — Conductor

Program notes

Experience the 2011 Glyndebourne Festival production of Benjamin Britten’s two-act opera The Turn of the Screw, whose libretto by Myfanwy Piper is based on the book by Henry James.

The plot of The Turn of the Screw truly is as described in the opera’s Prologue a “curious story”. An isolated manor in the English countryside, a faithful old chambermaid, two young orphans and a new governess filled with enthusiasm, sent from London to take care of them. But nothing is as it seems in the protected world of Bly...

Directed by Jakub Hrůša, Musical Director of Glyndebourne on Tour, Jonathan Kent’s strangely disturbing production was filmed at the Glyndebourne Festival in 2011. The staging updates Henry James’ late-Victorian ghost story to the postwar England in which Britten composed the opera, a choice that, as put by Martin Kettle in The Gaurdian “is very effective, underlining that Britten, not James is the evening’s presiding spook”. With the score realized by an assured cast of soloists, supported by the London Philharmonic under Edward Gardner, the production serves up a shiver-inducing evening of insidious musical mystery.

Photo: © Alastair Muir / Glyndebourne Festival Opera 2011

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info