Verdi's The Sicilian Vespers

Christof Loy (stage director), Paolo Carignani (conductor) – With Barbara Haveman (Hélène), Burkhard Fritz (Henri) and Alejandro Marco-Buhrmester (Guy de Montfort)

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Christof Loy — Stage director

Thomas Wilhelm — Choreographer

Johannes Leiacker — Set designer

Ursula Renzenbrink — Costume designer

Bernd Purkrabek — Lighting

Barbara Haveman — Hélène

Burkhard Fritz — Henri

Alejandro Marco-Buhrmester — Guy de Montfort

Bálint Szabó — Jean Procida

Livia Aghova — Ninetta

Jeremy White — Sire de Béthune

Christophe Fel — Comte de Vaudremont

Fabrice Farina — Daniéli

Hubert Francis — Thibault

Roger Smeets — Robert

Rudi De Vries — Mainfroid

Barbara Spitz — Dancer

Program notes

This superb version of The Sicilian Vespers was staged by Christof Loy at the Het Muziektheater in Amsterdam in 2010. The performance stars Barbara Haveman, Livia Ághová and Burkhard Fritz, while Paolo Carignani conducts the Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest.

The Sicilian Vespers is an opera in five acts by Verdi, and was performed for the very first time at the Paris Opera on June 13th 1855 as part of the 1855 Universal Exposition. Although this work followed three of Verdi's biggest successes—Rigoletto, Il Trovatore and La TraviataThe Sicilian Vespers never reached the same level of popularity as its predecessors.

Verdi’s opera recounts the historic event of the "Sicilian Vespers", when during Easter in 1282 A.D., the Sicilian population rose up against King Charles of Anjou. The staging by Christof Loy modernizes the opera, with armor and other 13th-century props replaced by costumes of different eras. Apart from the red curtain and choirs, the staging consists entirely of videos projected on a screen. The leading vocal roles are sung by Barbara Haveman, Livia Ághová and Burkhard Fritz, accompanied by the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Paolo Carignani.

Photo © Monika Ritterhaus

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info