Tchaikovsky's The Queen of Spades

Benedict Andrews (stage director), Aziz Shokhakimov (conductor) — With Asmik Grigorian (Liza), Brandon Jovanovich (Hermann), Roman Burdenko (Count Tomsky) …

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Benedict Andrews — Stage director

Rufus Didwiszus — Set designer

Victoria Behr — Costume designer

Jon Clark — Lighting

Klevis Elmazaj — Choreographer

Olaf Roth — Dramaturgy

Asmik Grigorian — Liza

Brandon Jovanovich — Hermann

Roman Burdenko — Count Tomsky

Boris Pinkhasovich — Prince Yeletsky

Violeta Urmana — Countess

Kevin Conners — Chekalinsky

Bálint Szabó — Surin

Tansel Akzeybek — Chaplitsky

Nikita Volkov — Narumov

Aleksey Kursanov — Master of Ceremonies

Victoria Karkacheva — Polina

Program notes

What drives us to submit to the unknown, to forget what we once felt, to abandon our conception of who we are? Tchaikovsky's operatic adaptation of Pushkin's Gothic tale par excellence has never looked or sounded better than in this new staging from the Bavarian State Opera, featuring the 2023 Opus Klassik Singer of the Year, Lithuanian soprano Asmik Grigorian, as Liza! Her 2022 turn in the same role at La Scala "[crowned] the evening," with the "outstanding" Grigorian, "at full throttle both vocally and dramatically… making a direct connection with the audience" (Bachtrack). The cast also features renowned American tenor Brandon Jovanovich in the lead role of Hermann and the legendary Violeta Urmana as the Countess, whose secret drives Hermann to obsession and a tragic end for all.

This brand-new production from one of the world's greatest opera houses is conducted by young maestro Aziz Shokhakimov (music director of the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra) and directed by Benedict Andrews, an artist of bold vision who has also won acclaim for his work on the theatre stage and the silver screen.

This program will shortly be subtitled. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Photo: Asmik Grigorian © Wilfried Hösl

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info