Marin Alsop conducts Bacewicz, Rautavaara, and Dvořák

Festival Katowice Culture Nature

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra — Orchestra

Marin Alsop — Conductor

Program notes

Join extraordinaire Marin Alsop as she conducts the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in an exquisite, imaginative, and globe-trotting concert, live from the Katowice Culture Nature Festival!

Composed in 1943 during the German Occupation, Grażyna Bacewicz’s Overture for Symphony Orchestra opens the program. A short piece for a large orchestra—with remarkably vibrant colors and surprising rhythmic and thematic richness—it sets the stage for the adventure to follow. Rautavaara’s Symphony No. 8, “The Journey”, fits the typical four-movement classical form, but remains one of the composer’s most personal and original creations: an autobiographical, symphonic journey, oscillating between cold calm and fiery agitation with hints of sonic surrealism. The concert-voyage ends with one of the most famous symphonies in the orchestral repertoire, Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, “From The New World”, an undeniable masterpiece of orchestral writing brimming with memorable melodies, heart-rending expressivity, and an irrepressible rhythmic drive.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info