Master class

Master Class with Sander Sittig (III/III)

Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 30, Op. 109 - Third Movement

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Sander Sittig — Teacher, pianist

Daniele Riscica — Pianist

Program notes

Award-winning Dutch pianist and accompanist Sander Sittig gives a master class at the Villa Sandra Lesa in Lesa, Italy, working with Daniele Riscica on the third movement of Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 30, Op. 109.

The Piano Sonata No. 30 in E major, Op. 109 is the first of Beethoven's last three piano sonatas, Opp. 109, 110, and 111, composed from 1820 to 1822. All three sonatas show evidence of a genre transformed into a medium for profound and personal musical expression. In Op. 109, the sonata form has become diffuse, with a first movement alternating between Vivace and Adagio, a second movement marked by characteristics associated more with first movements, and a finale that is a set of variations.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info