Master class

Master Class with Gil Shaham (III/IV)

Mozart's Violin Sonata No. 27

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Gil Shaham — Teacher, violinist

Colleen McCullough — Violinist

Program notes

International soloist and virtuoso violinist Gil Shaham works with violinist alumni of the New World Symphony (NWS) in a series of four master classes. They feature young professional violinists performing Classical and Romantic masterpieces from the violin repertoire.

Mozart's Violin and Piano Sonata No. 27 was composed in April 1781 for a concert performance in Salzburg, with Mozart at the piano and Antonio Brunetti performing the violin “accompaniment”, as the composer called it. In this master class, Gil Shaham works on the sonata with NWS fellow Coleen McCullough, delving into questions of tempo, aesthetic and bow usage.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info