Schubert: Winterreise

Jean-François Zygel's Music Lessons

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Jean-François Zygel

Ébène Quartet

Benjamin Berlioz — Double bassist

Nora Gubisch — Mezzo-soprano

Laurent Alvaro — Baritone

Program notes

Jean-François Zygel presents Schubert's Winterreise. Movement by movement, he dissects the Austrian composer's work and explores its origins, inspirations, and musical richness. Illustrating his explanations from the piano, he is joined by the Quatuor Ebène, the contrabassist Benjamin Berlioz, and the singers Nora Gubisch and Laurent Alvaro.

For more than a decade, Jean-François Zygel—pianist, improviser, and pedagogue without equal—has given his highly acclaimed Music Lessons at the town hall of Paris' 20th arrondissement and later at the Théâtre du Châtelet, filmed by Naïve. The Lessons enable his public to (re)discover selected works of the classical music repertoire and get to know them inside and out, using Zygel's own highly accessible and original methods.  In each episode, Jean François Zygel presents the oeuvre of a selected composer, accompanying himself at the piano and musically illustrating his explanations with the help of his fellow musicians.




A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info