Maurice Ravel, The Enchanted Garden

Jean-François Zygel's Music Lessons

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Jean-François Zygel

Marc Phillips — Violinist

Xavier Phillips — Cellist

Program notes

Jean-François Zygel presents Ravel's Enchanted Garden. Movement by movement, he dissects the French composer's work and explores its origins, inspirations, and musical richness. His explanations are musically illustrated with the help of violinist Jean Marc Phillips and cellist Xavier Phillips.

For more than a decade, Jean-François Zygel—pianist, improviser, and pedagogue without equal—has given his highly acclaimed Music Lessons at the town hall of Paris' 20th arrondissement and later at the Théâtre du Châtelet, filmed by Naïve. The Lessons enable his public to (re)discover selected works of the classical music repertoire and get to know them inside and out, using Zygel's own highly accessible and original methods.  In each episode, Jean François Zygel presents the oeuvre of a selected composer, accompanying himself at the piano and musically illustrating his explanations with the help of his fellow musicians.

Appears in

More info