The Vendome Prize: Final Gala Concert and Awards Ceremony

Aristo Sham, Sahun “Sam” Hong, and Do-Hyun Kim – With the Gringolts Quartet

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of
Cast Program notes Composers & works More info


Aristo Sham — Pianist

Sahun "Sam" Hong — Pianist

Do-Hyun Kim — Pianist

Gringolts Quartet

Gordon Back — Jury Chairman

Martin T:son Engstroem — Founder and Executive Director of the Verbier Festival

Christopher Elton — Jury Member

Alexis Gregory — Jury Member

Alexei Grynyuk — Jury Member

Thomas Quasthoff — Jury Member

Yevgeny Sudbin — Jury Member

Ilana Vered — Jury Member

Program notes

The Verbier Festival hosts the finale of the 2017 Vendome Prize! In the last round of the internationally celebrated piano competition, Aristo Sham, Sahun “Sam” Hong, and Do-Hyun Kim perform on the stage of the Verbier Church with the Gringolts Quartet. Don't miss the awards ceremony, which follows the last candidate's performance!

Founded in 2000 by Alexis Gregory, the Vendome Prize rewards talented young pianists who master a broad repertoire and are equal to the demands of extended concert tours. Priviledged access to master classes, and specialized coachings gives the candidates the support they need to become the stars of tomorrow! The finale of the Vendome Prize at the Verbier Festival is dedicated to the memory of the late Sir Jeffrey Tate, one of the towering figures of the classical music world and a renowned conductor. He was also Chairman of the Vendome Jury since its beginning. – Alexis Gregory and Martin T:son Engstroem.

Discover the Vendome Prize's Official Website

And the 2017 Vendome Prize winners are:
Second-Prize winners: Sahun “Sam” Hong and Do-Hyun Kim
Third-Prize winner: Aristo Sham

Photo: Yekwon Sunwoo, 1st Prize winner of the 2014 Vendome Prize © Aline Paley


A closer look: composers and works

More info