Tarmo Peltokoski conducts Vaughan Williams, Korngold, and Shostakovich — With Chad Hoopes

Orchestre Nationale du Capitole de Toulouse

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The young and flabbergastingly talented Finnish conductor Tarmo Peltokoski takes the helm of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, alongside virtuoso violinist Chad Hoopes for a memorable concert live from Toulouse's Halle aux Grains!

Both conductor and soloist are recent revelations on the classical scene—neither is yet 30 years old! Their smartly selected program centers around the violin, beginning with Vaughan Williams's sublime Lark Ascending for violin and orchestra, a one-movement violin concerto in all but name, transcendentally beautiful from start to finish. Next is the well-loved, electrifying Violin Concerto by Korngold, based on a selection of themes from the composer's successful film music and perhaps his most widely known and performed work today. To conclude on a note of great emotion: Shostakovich's autobiographical Symphony No. 5, written just after his denunciation at the hands of Joseph Stalin.

Photo: Tarmo Peltokoski © Peter Rigaud / Chad Hoopes © Jiyang Chen

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info