Sir Simon Rattle conducts Chin, Sibelius, and Bartók — With Leonidas Kavakos

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Live from the Barbican Center, spend an evening with Sir Simon Rattle and the prestigious London Symphony Orchestra! Joined by virtuoso violinist Leonidas Kavakos, the renowned conductor leads the storied ensemble in a program celebrating the '20s—from more than one century…

The program kicks off with the world premiere of South Korean composer Unsuk Chin's Violin Concerto No. 2! The first concerto by the former student of György Ligeti (who also composed the hit 2007 opera Alice in Wonderland) is already considered a repertoire standard, but she had not planned to write a second. Leonidas Kavakos's extraordinary talent won her over, inspiring her to compose this new work entitled Scherben der Stille (Shards of Silence)—a perfect 2020s counterpoint to two works from the 1920s: Sibelius's sublime Symphony No. 7, the Finnish master's final symphony completed in 1924, and Bartók's Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin, a pantomime ballet that premiered in 1928.

Leonidas Kavakos appears courtesy of Sony Classical.

This program is just one of the thousands available on, the web’s leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info