Antonio Pappano conducts Sibelius, Bernstein and Nielsen — With Janine Jansen

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

A virtuoso as passionate as she is audacious, Janine Jansen joins the London Symphony Orchestra under Antonio Pappano’s legendary baton for one of Leonard Bernstein’s brilliantly original musical flights of fancy: his Serenade, after Plato's Symposium, a work that transports us to a banquet in which Socrates and six of his philosopher colleagues (Phaedrus, Pausanias, Eryximachus, Aristophanes, Agathon, and Alcibiades) have a friendly contest to see who can best extemporize in praise of love. Two works by Nordic composers, Sibelius’s The Oceanides, Op. 73 and Nielsen’s Fourth Symphony, nicknamed "The Inextinguishable", round off this truly unique evening at London’s Barbican Center.

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info