Chamber Orchestra of Europe plays Haydn, Mozart, Say, and Beethoven — With Fazıl Say

Haydnsaal (Esterházy Palace)

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Fazıl Say — Pianist
Stephanie Gonley — First Violin Solo & Direction

Program notes

Don't miss an exceptional evening at Austria's world-renowned Esterházy Palace in the illustrious company of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, joined by piano virtuoso Fazıl Say! On the program are masterpieces by Haydn (who worked for the Esterházy family for four decades and whose name adorns the palace's stunning Haydnsaal), Mozart, Beethoven, and Fazıl Say himself…

The festivities begin with Haydn's beloved "Miracle" Symphony No. 96, one of the composer's twelve beloved London symphonies—so-called because of the story that no audience members were harmed by a falling chandelier at the work's premiere (this event is now believed to have taken place at the premiere of the Symphony No. 102, but the name has stuck!). Fazıl Say then joins the ensemble on the stage for Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, joyful and poetic, before continuing with one of his own pieces: Yürüyen Köşk (The Moving Mansion), performed here in an arrangement for piano and string orchestra. Finally, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe brings the evening to a close with Beethoven's "Pastoral" Symphony No. 6, one of the most sublimely evocative works of program music ever composed.

Photo: Chamber Orchestra of Europe © Julia Wesely

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Marcin Dunin-Borkowski
Venue: Esterházy Palace (Eisenstadt, Austria)
Broadcast date: Friday, March 11, 2022, 6:30 PM
Production date: 2022
Duration: 2 h 17 min
Production: © Co-production by the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Residenzorchester Schloss Esterházy, and
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Saturday, June 11, 2022