Riccardo Chailly conducts Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto No. 2 — With Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider — Violinist

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Riccardo Chailly — Conductor

Program notes

Maestro Riccardo Chailly, the storied Gewandhaus Orchestra of Leipzig, and violin star Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider team up for an unforgettable evening of Mendelssohn and Bach! The soloist's virtuosic talent grabs our attention right away, blending seamlessly with the trademark sound of the famous ensemble under the baton of one of today's most celebrated conductors.

The evening kicks off with the beloved Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E Minor, composed over a period of six years with the assistance of virtuoso violinist Ferdinand David—then the first violinist for the Gewandhaus Orchestra, who pledged to "practice it so well that the angels in heaven will rejoice." Szeps-Znaider concludes the concert with the third movement of Bach's Partita No. 2 in D Minor, whose title of "Sarabande" evokes a slow, sweet, and noble dance to match the timeless quality of the music.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info