Renaud Capuçon and Martha Argerich play Beethoven, Franck, and Prokofiev

Salzburg Festival 2020

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
An event presented by


Renaud Capuçon — Violinist

Martha Argerich — Pianist

Program notes

Live from the House for Mozart, two legends to work their magic at the 2020 Salzburg Festival! Martha Argerich and Renaud Capuçon come together in a program that highlights their peerless artistic sensibility and technical prowess, as well as the extraordinary rapport they have developed and refined after years of fruitful collaborations.

The dynamic duo takes on a tremendous trifecta: high-wire acts by Franck (one of the most exquisitely singular works in the repertoire) and Prokofiev (the Violin Sonata No. 2, originally composed for flute but transcribed for violin at the request of the great David Oistrakh), and a timeless classic by Beethoven in the year marking his 250th birthday. His sparkling G-major Violin Sonata No. 8 commences the evening in style, a work written while the composer was becoming increasingly aware of his deafness, nonetheless suffused with moments of hope and joy...

Photo: Renaud Capuçon © Erato/Warner; Martha Argerich © Adriano Heitmann

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info