Reinhard Goebel conducts Vivaldi, Haydn, and Pergolesi — With Martin Fröst, Anna Lucia Richter, and Bruno de Sá

Verbier Festival 2022

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Martin Fröst — Clarinetist

Anna Lucia Richter — Mezzo-soprano

Bruno de Sá — Soprano

Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra — Orchestra

Reinhard Goebel — Conductor

Program notes

One of the world’s most respected 18th-century music specialists, Reinhard Goebel presents an entirely original program alongside three fantastic soloists: clarinet virtuoso Martin Fröst, mezzo-soprano Anna Lucia Richter, and sopranist Bruno de Sá!

The program begins with a “hypothetical concerto” for clarinet, crafted from exquisite arrangements of opera arias by Vivaldi and transcribed for the instrument by Andreas Tarkmann (Hanover, 1956). Next up is Haydn’s charming symphony—known as “The Clock”, as its second movement evokes the ticking of the clock—an archetypal masterpiece of the Classical symphony, written in 1793 in London. The program closes with Bach's arrangement of Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater, a work that has fascinated both audiences and musicians alike from the moment of its creation. For reasons that are still unknown to us today, the great German composer transcribed the work and embellished it with his masterful counterpoint.

The extraordinary voices of Anna Lucia Richter and Bruno de Sá—the latter defying the limits of the human voice by reaching soprano notes with a formidable falsetto technique—light up the last part of this varied program, which brings us on a musical journey from Naples to Leipzig, Vienna, London, and Venice…


Photo: Reinhard Goebel © Wolf Silveri

Bruno de Sá appears courtesy of Warner Classics.

A closer look: featured composers

More info