Rafael Payare conducts Bruckner's Symphony No. 7

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Rafael Payare — Conductor

Program notes

Live from Canada, Rafael Payare and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra take on Bruckner's Symphony No. 7, one of the Austrian master's most beloved works—and one that helped establish him as a major composer of the nineteenth century. A veritable monument of lyricism, the symphony follows the traditional four-movement structure, and includes a splendid second-movement Adagio as one of its highlights. During the performance, keep an eye out for a sight rarely-seen on modern concert stages: the octobass! Just a handful of these very large string instruments exist in the world today and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra became the first ensemble to add one to its roster in 2016. 

Photo: Rafael Payare © Bjørn Bertheussen

Appears in

More info

Venue: Maison symphonique de Montréal (Montreal, Canada)
Broadcast date: Tuesday, May 10, 2022, 11:30 PM
Production date: 2022
Duration: 1 h 3 min
Production: © Orchestre symphonique de Montréal / An audiovisual production ProdCan
Resolution: SD

Available until

Wednesday, August 10, 2022