Paavo Järvi conducts Takemitsu, Schumann, and Bruckner — With Sol Gabetta

NHK Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Sol Gabetta — Cellist

NHK Symphony Orchestra

Paavo Järvi — Conductor

Program notes

Don't miss this soul-stirring evening of Romantic and contemporary masterpieces, featuring internationally lauded cellist Sol Gabetta and renowned conductor Paavo Järvi!

Järvi leads the NHK Symphony Orchestra—Japan’s first, founded almost a century ago—in Japanese avant-garde master Toru Takemitsu’s sparse, haunting How Slow the Wind, inspired by Emily Dickinson ("How slow the Wind / how slow the sea / how late their Feathers be!"). Ghostly strings and shifting harmonic “breezes” give way to the great pathos and compositional originality of Schumann’s Cello Concerto, in which Sol Gabetta “finds zest and spontaneity in every phrase” of the poignant work (Financial Times).

Finally, Maestro Järvi conducts Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony, a towering achievement that brought the meticulous Bruckner the resounding acclaim he had always sought. With its distinctive tremolos, memorable melodies, and heartrending Adagio mourning the death of Wagner—featuring the seldom-heard Wagner tuba—it remains perhaps the most beloved of Bruckner's symphonies.

Photo: Paavo Järvi © Julia Bayer, Sol Gabetta © Julia Wesely

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info