Oksana Lyniv conducts Bohdana Frolyak, Brahms, and Beethoven — With Mao Fujita

Tsinandali Festival 2022

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The Tsinandali Festival is back in grand style! 80 exceptional young talents in the Pan-Caucasian Youth Orchestra—the festival's main ensemble, representing Georgia, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Turkey, and Armenia—have the honor of opening the 2022 festival alongside virtuoso pianist Mao Fujita and under the baton of renowned Ukrainian conductor Oksana Lyniv.

Lyniv and the young orchestra open the concert with the Adagio in memory of Myroslav Skoryk by Ukrainian composer Bohdana Frolyak, a tribute to her professor (and fellow composer) at the Lviv Conservatory. Next, the award-winning Fujita takes the stage to perform Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, an early work that met with a chilly response in its day: the composer broke with the contemporary tradition by writing a piano part on equal footing with the orchestra rather than in the dominant solo role of a showpiece Romantic concerto. In subsequent years it has been reevaluated as a masterpiece and one of Brahms's finest works. The evening closes with Beethoven's stirring Symphony No. 7, a structurally audacious and inexpressibly poignant piece that Wagner described as "the apotheosis of the dance itself… the loftiest deed of bodily motion, incorporated into an ideal mold of tone."

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info