Oksana Lyniv conducts Almashi, Stankovych, Kiva, Lyatoshynsky, and Dvořák — With Nataliia Kukhar and Andrii Murza

Youth Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Nataliia Kukhar — Mezzo-soprano

Andrii Murza — Violinist

Youth Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Oksana Lyniv — Conductor

Program notes

The sensational Oksana Lyniv conducts the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine in a poignant concert for peace, featuring masterpieces of Ukrainian orchestral music at the Konzerthaus Berlin!

The evening opens with a commissioned work by Zoltan Almashi: Maria’s City, a heart-rending adagio for strings dedicated to the destroyed city of Mariupol—a place close to the composer’s heart. Next is Yevhen Stankovych’s “Ukrainian Poem” for violin and orchestra, an expressive composition contrasting intense passages with calmer moments of light and clarity. The centerpieces of the program include the renowned Boris Lyatoshinsky’s romantic symphonic poem Grazyna and Oleg Kiva’s Chamber Cantata No. 3 for voice and orchestra—featuring magnificent mezzo-soprano Nataliia Kukhar—glorifying the eternal beauty of the world. Antonín Dvořák’s extraordinary Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”, brings the concert to a rousing conclusion, powerfully evoking a longing for one’s home.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info