Sir Simon Rattle conducts Ligeti, Wagner, Sibelius, Debussy and Ravel

Moving to Modern Times (II/II) – Lucerne Festival 2012

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Program notes

At the Lucerne Festival 2012, Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker continued their cycle Moving to Modern Times.

The evening started off with György Ligeti’s Atmosphères fading into Richard Wagner's Overture to Lohengrin. Jean Sibelius' 4th Symphony followed and the audience then enjoyed Claude Debussy’s Jeux and Maurice Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé. Sir Simon Rattle challenged the audience by stretching the musical arc from Wagner to Ligeti: an exciting programme combination resulting in one of the highlights of this festival.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info