Mikhaïl Pletnev conducts Glazunov and Tchaikovsky — With Janine Jansen

Verbier Festival 2017

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Program notes

Mikhaïl Pletnev and the Verbier Festival Orchestra bring the 2017 Verbier Festival to a close with a concert dedicated to Russian composers. In this first part, they perform Glazounov's From the Middle Ages and Tchaikovsky's Souvenir d'un lieu cher. They are joined by Janine Jansen for Tchaikovsky's glorious Violin Concerto.

The evening begins with a rare treat: the Prelude from Glazunov's 1902 orchestral suite From the Middle Ages. Evoking medieval Europe through orchestral music on an operatic scale, the suite portrays a passionate young couple, blissfully ignorant of the furious storm that surrounds them. The brilliant violinist Janine Jansen then takes the stage to perform Tchaikovsky's beloved Violin Concerto in D Major, one of the most beautiful and technically-challenging of the genre. Despite the concerto's success, Tchaikovsky never wrote another work of its kind.

Made possible by the support of the Tabor Foundation.
Photo: Janine Jansen © Aline Paley

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Tuesday, February 29, 2028