Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Gershwin and Shostakovich — With Yuja Wang

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The London Symphony Orchestra celebrates the 70th birthday of its principal guest conductor, Michael Tilson Thomas, with a program perfectly suited to the musician it honors! They begin with Colin Matthews’s 1992 orchestral arrangement of Hidden Variables (an avant-garde work originally composed for chamber ensemble), an arrangement that MTT—a strong and tireless advocate of contemporary music—commissioned himself. Next the conductor’s frequent musical collaborator, Yuja Wang, pays tribute to him with an effervescent performance one of the few piano concertos written by an American composer: Gershwin's Concerto in F Major. Shostakovich’s Fifth brings the concert to a close with an intimate performance that shows the close relationship between this brilliant conductor and his equally-brilliant orchestra.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info