Michael Tilson Thomas conducts his own works

With Measha Brueggergosman, Kristen Toedtman, Kara Dugan, and John Wilson

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Luke Kritzeck — Lighting designer

Measha Brueggergosman — Soprano

Kristen Toedtman — Vocalist

Kara Dugan — Vocalist

John Wilson — Pianist

Patrick Posey — Alto saxophonist

Sarah Roberts — Tenor/baritone saxophonist

Mark Grisez — Trumpeter

Arno Tri Pramudia — Trombonist

Justin Smith — Lead guitarist

Craig Wagner — Rhythm guitarist

Mike Valerio — Bass guitarist

Michael Casterisano — Drummer

Alan Steinberger — Keyboardist

New World Symphony

Program notes

The superstar maestro and composer Michael Tilson Thomas (known to his fans as “MTT”!) leads the New World Symphony in two of his own musical creations.

Composer, conductor, pianist, music director of the San Francisco Symphony, and artistic director and founder of the New World Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas has won admirers around the globe, from orchestra members to audiences. Born in Los Angeles in 1944, MTT had a passion from a young age for literature and American symphonic music, which he has never stopped promoting. Some of his works draw their inspiration from the poetry of  Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, and Carl Sandburg. His Four Preludes on Playthings of the Wind is a musical adaptation of the poem of the same name by Carl Sandburg: “I read his collection Smoke and Steel and revelled in the images of speed, power and outcry that were there.” A prodigy mentored by the great Leonard Bernstein himself, he has won 11 Grammy awards and participated in more than 120 recordings, and doesn’t seem to be ready to stop any time soon!

Photo: Michael Tilson Thomas © Bill Swerbenski

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info