Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim perform Schumann, Debussy, and Bartók

At the Teatro Colón

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Martha Argerich — Pianist

Lev Loftus — Percussionist

Daniel Barenboim — Pianist

Pedro Manuel Torrejón González — Percussionist

Program notes

Born one year apart in Argentina, childhood friends, shining stars at the center of the international classical music scene for more than half a century, Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim had never performed on stage together in their native Buenos Aires until 2014. In 2015 as part of the mythical Teatro Colón's Festival de Música y Reflexión (“Music and Reflection Festival”), the musical titans joined forces for a program highlighting their breathtaking talents.

Barenboim and Argerich begin with an intimate music dialogue in Schumann’s Six Studies in the Form of Canons, Op. 56, an accessible work whose performance showcases the two artists' complementary talents. They continue with Debussy’s 1915 En blanc et noir, an avant-garde work for its time that provoked harsh criticism from the likes of conservatives like Saint-Saëns, who declared that "We must at all costs bar the door of the Institut [de France] against a man capable of such atrocities; they should be put next to the cubist pictures." Bartók’s spectacular Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion is filled with technical fireworks that Barenboim and Argerich perform with unfailing mastery of their instrument, a brilliant display in this historic recital.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info