Marek Janowski conducts Beethoven and Saint-Saëns

With the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works More info


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Marek Janowski — Conductor

Program notes

2013 marked the 50th anniversary of the Élysée Treaty, a landmark agreement that brought centuries of Franco-German rivalry to an end. In this concert of masterworks by Saint-Saëns and Beethoven at the Berliner Philharmonie, Marek Janowski and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin celebrated the historic day (January 22, 1963) when German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer and French President Charles de Gaulle signed the treaty. Beethoven’s beloved Egmont Overture opens the program, followed by Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 (the “organ” symphony), and Beethoven’s Ode to Joy.  

Photo: Marek Janowski © Felix Broede

A closer look: composers and works

More info