Mao Fujita performs Mozart's Piano Sonatas Nos. 6, 8, and 16

Verbier Festival 2021

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Mao Fujita — Pianist

Program notes

The mega-talented Mao Fujita, Verbier Festival Academy alumnus and winner of many prestigious accolades—including a widely lauded run to the Silver Medal at the 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition—makes his solo debut on the stage of the Verbier Festival! Over the course of five exceptional concerts, the young pianist tackles a formidable challenge: the complete Mozart Piano Sonatas. 

The penultimate recital begins with the Sonata No. 16 in C Major, a longtime favorite whose charming first movement will be familiar to many listeners, and whose Andante and Rondo are just as delightful. The "Dürnitz" Sonata No. 6 in D Major (1775) follows, already demonstrating a heightened ambition compared with the first five (1774)—the final movement never fails to grab listeners' attention! Finally, Fujita concludes this volume with one of only two minor-key Mozart piano sonatas (a delicate F Major Andante notwithstanding): the Eighth Sonata in A Minor, another of the Salzburg-born genius's most tried and true crowd-pleasers from the very first notes.


Photo: Mao Fujita © Eiichi Ikeda

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info